Progress on my trauma recovery process through a book

Published February 14, 2012 by The Inane and insane Ramblings of Rose

Part of my slowing down on my trauma recovery process is that i have a lot of unprocessed and unresolved anger: towards people, life, situations, and the system. You would never know it from the surface but I carry it around with me deeep down. So I decided to browse Amazon for a book on letting go of anger and found a fantatic one called The Secret To Letting Go And Moving On by Joff Day. The book basically has you look at your life and its hurts as offences and debts you feel you are owed. And realise that those debts can never be filled so the only way to settle those accounts in your head that are taking up the space in your head, your heart, your mind, and your body, is to settle those accounts, through forgiveness. And specifically forgiving each debt, each offense, not just one broad catagory. Its really quite intresting and I am 3/4 of the way through it and I think I will use it as a tool in therapy to work with. The man is pretty brilliant. It seems very simplistic but it makes sense. you can’t move on if you can’t forgive. If you hold on to the past, then those seeds of bitterness and resentment and anger are only hurting you, not the person you are angry with.  It doesn’t mean reconciliation. it doesn’t mean that the offense was okay or acceptable. It just means that you are letting go and not holding onto that anger anymore and saying you’ve held enough time in my head and recognizing that there is nothing that the person could ever possibly do to make up for that time they spent in your head. So you simply forgive the debt. I’m hoping it will wor. it is a new approach for me. Time doesn’t heal all wounds but maybe this will do some of the healing.

Rosie

Leave a Reply

