Seeing my heart on a screen and adventures at the gym

Published February 16, 2012 by The Inane and insane Ramblings of Rose

Today was a full day. I started off by finishing reading the book about forgiveness I menitoned uyeserday and reading febraury’s issue of Self magazine. Then hopped out of bed and made a bell pepper, spinach, and rasperry smoothie for breakfast. Soon after, it was time for my echo cardiogram which is basically a non invasive but comprehensive ultrasound examination of the heart. It was incredible to see. The tech showed me my valves, aorta, atriums, and ventircles. She let me listen to the different valves in the heart. And she explained everything as she went. It was really nice to see what i had learned in school up on the screen to see. She said that she had to make some measurements and calculations later to get my ejectrion fraction etc. and then my cardiologist would read it and let me know in the enxt few days the results. But she saw nothing terribly alarming on the screen which was good to hear ūüôā So yes boys and girls, I do have a heart ūüôā

After my foray into cardiopulmonary science, I splurged on a nice lunch of steamed clams and baked haddock with fresh vegetables and lots of water and some unsweetened iced tea. Then it was off to the gym.¬† I have stayed away from weights because I have been a little fearful that they would cause pain after my last episodes but, I am too stubborn to let things hold me back for too long so I worked my ass off on the weights for forty minutes then on the recombent cross trainer for 10 minutes. I paid for it afterwards and I am very tired right now but it was worth it to work out my muscles and feel some strength coming back.¬† For those of you who wish to know today’s routine:

  • Machine Bench Press:
    • 40 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+37 pts)
    • 40 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+37 pts)
  • EZ-Bar Curl:
    • 40 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+22 pts)
    • 40 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+22 pts)
  • Seated Cable Row:
    • 55 lb¬†x¬†30 reps¬†(+38 pts)
    • 55 lb¬†x¬†10 reps¬†(+31 pts)
  • Wide-Grip Lat Pulldown:
    • 55 lb¬†x¬†30 reps¬†(+36 pts)
    • 55 lb¬†x¬†10 reps¬†(+29 pts)
  • Leg Press:
    • 130 lb¬†x¬†25 reps¬†(+33 pts)
    • 130 lb¬†x¬†25 reps¬†(+33 pts)
    • 130 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+31 pts)
  • Leg Extensions:
    • 70 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+18 pts)
    • 70 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+18 pts)
  • Abductor Machine:
    • 75 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+16 pts)
    • 75 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+16 pts)
  • Stair Machine:
    • 0:10:00¬†(+63 pts)
  • Adductor Machine:
    • 75 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+16 pts)
    • 75 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+16 pts)
  • Seated Leg Curl:
    • 70 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+18 pts)
    • 70 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+18 pts)
  • Ab Crunch Machine:
    • 50 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+15 pts)
    • 50 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+15 pts)
  • Weighted Hyperextension:
    • 50 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+15 pts)
    • 50 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+15 pts)
  • Decline EZ Bar Triceps Extension:
    • 40 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+14 pts)
    • 40 lb¬†x¬†20 reps¬†(+14 pts)

So that’s my day in a nutshell! Hope you all had a great and productive day!!

Rosie

Leave a Reply

